The Next Season of My Life…

1419320490_480f8b105b

Family and Friends,

THE SHORT VERSION:
After much prayer & counsel, and with the blessing of Tom & our church elders, my family & I have decided to accept an offer for me to go work with The Well Community Church in Fresno, CA.  My family and I will be heading out on May 28th.  Jeff Wiesner will be taking over the reigns of College Life (he’s been on my staff as the small groups director for the past two years).

THE LONG VERSION:
As many of you know, I have been in Denton for the past 15 years. I first came here to go to school and hopefully make somehting of my life. Within a year of being here, the Lord used a combination of Campus Crusade & Denton Bible Church to grab a hold of me and deepen my roots spiritually. I have never been the same since. The Lord has poured out his blessing on my life in ways that I could have never dreamed would be possible…
– I grew in my faith here
– I learned my Bible here
– I found some lifelong friends here
– I met and married my wife here
– I had my three daughters here (well, my wife had them)
– I was trained to be a pastor here
– and the list could go on!

7 years ago I was given my first full time job and the chance to lead and pastor College Life. I can’t tell you what a privilege it has been to be able to lead the very ministry that changed my life the most. But one of the funny things about college ministry is that every year the students stay the same age and I get a year older! Over the past few years I have recognized within me a growing passion to not only lead collegians, but to also reach out to some of the other singles, young couples & families as well. I’ve felt for a little while that my days as a college pastor might be numbered.

After considering several other opportunties, my wife and I feel strongly led to join the Well Community team out in Fresno, California. The Well is a young and vibrant church that’s grown a ton over the past few years. They are  pastored by the same guy that grabbed a hold of me and invested in me almost 13 years ago here in Denton (Brad Bell). You can learn more about the church at www.thewellcommunity.org. I will be heading out there to serve as the equipping director & pastor of one of their satellite campuses.

This is a bitter sweet move for us- and one that was not taken lightly. While we’re excited to be used by God in this next season of ministry, we’re saddened to leave our family and friends and a city that we’ve grown to love. We’re thankful to all of you who have poured into us and helped shape us into the people we are today. Special thanks to John Bryson, Tom Nelson, and the elders of Denton Bible Church for allowing us the opportunity to serve at the very church that has served us so well. Also special thanks to our family for supporting this decision, even though it has been difficult for them to let us go.

I’ll keep everyone updated in the coming days with our new information. In the meantime, we’re still here in Denton working the College Life magic! We’d love to spend as much time as we can with all our family & friends before we leave.

-Shea

~ by Shea Sumlin on March 11, 2009.

3 Responses to “The Next Season of My Life…”

  1. California needs solid guys like you! Go get em!

  2. OH my goodness, I am just now seeing this for the first time and you are leaving tomorrow.I tried to send you and Tiffany an email just now but I only have your college life email. Can you send me your email address so that I can email ya’ll and keep in touch? Denton will not be the same without you Shea! I’ve always wanted to go to CA so maybe I can come visit ya’ll sometime!

  3. You’re sweet Jessica. However, we don’t leave until May 28th… not tomorrow. So we still have two more months. Before we leavew though, I’ll post all of our new contact information. You’re welcome in Cali anytime!

Leave a Reply

 
