My Daughter is My Hero…

This morning, I woke up at 5am to take my oldest daughter (age 5) to the hospital.  My daughter has an extremely small mouth- which has brought about two complications for her…

  1. Because there’s not much space between her teeth, she has been tremendously prone to cavities and other forms of periodontal disease
  2. She doesn’t have room for her adult teeth to come in

So after 3 different professional opinions (of which all agreed) – we made the decision to take her to the dentist to have some work done… some serious work.  In all, she had 4 of her front teeth extracted and 12 other teeth silver-capped.  On top of that, because there was so much work to be done, she had to be operated on at Cook Children’s Hospital (Ft. Worth) under full anesthesia.  Just the thought alone of all that she would have to go through was enough to rip my heart out.  Thus far, this has been the hardest thing for me to do… having to hand my daughter off for two hours to be operated on.

But here is why my daughter is my hero…

Not once – either in the days leading up to the surgery or even in the hours after the surgery – did she complain.  Not one time did she cry, get upset, show fear, or express concern.  We explicitly walked her through what was going to happen; even told her that it was probably going to hurt pretty bad- and that she was going to have to go the next year and a half without front teeth (she starts kindergarten in 19 days!)… but not once did she worry.

She simply told me this morning… “daddy, it’s ok… I know Jesus is with me.” 

I saw a new side today of what it means to have childlike faith.  Through my 5-year-old, God showed me a glimpse of what it means to trust in the midst of uncertainty and to embrace joy in the midst of pain.

You’re my hero Emma… And yes, you’re as beautiful as ever!

~ by Shea Sumlin on August 6, 2008.

2 Responses to “My Daughter is My Hero…”

  1. Wow – that’s amazing. Her faith is both encouraging and humbling!

  2. What a trusting little granddaughter. I know Tiffany and Shea agonized over the surgery for a good while. Emma has supportive parents who love her very much. To have that much faith without a sliver of fear shows what a beautiful, sweet, and trusting child she really is. I have never been so proud of a mother & father. I love you both. Emma you are grandma’s little angel. Love Grandma.

Leave a Reply

 
